Venäläinen näkemys Venäjän ja Georgian välisestä konfliktista vuonna 2008

History of the conflict

In 1774 Ossetia became a part of the Russian Empire. At that time, it hadn’t been divided into South and North Ossetia yet. In 1801 Georgia also joined the Russian Empire.

After the collapse of the Russian Empire in 1917, Georgia became independent from Russia. As a result of the Ossetian nation’s genocide (in which, according to different estimates, between 10 and 20 thousand people perished) Georgia annexed the South Ossetian territory. North Ossetia remained part of Russia.

From that moment, the Ossetian nation started its fight for independence. In 1990 the Council of the People’s Deputies of the South Ossetian Autonomous Region proclaimed the South Ossetian Soviet Democratic Republic. The Declaration of the National Sovereignty was adopted.

That is how a new spiral of the Georgian-Ossetian conflict began. Between 1990 and 1992, thousands of peaceful Ossetians were killed. Refugees started fleeing to Russia.

In 1992, 98% of South Ossetia’s population voted for independence of their republic and for reuniting with Russia.

After that, Georgian artillery and combat vehicles shelled the city of Tskhinval.

The armed action ceased when the Dagomys Agreements were signed between Russia and Georgia. The Agreements implied a ceasefire and the formation of a Joined Control Commission for settling the conflict. The Commission included both Georgian and South Ossetian parties and Russia.

On July 14, 1992 three battalions (Russian, Georgian and South Ossetian) of the peacekeeping forces entered the conflict zone.

In 2002, the South Ossetian Parliament adopted a resolution requesting the Russian authorities to include South Ossetia as part of Russia.

On August 8, 2008 President Saakashvili’s regime started shelling the sleeping town of Tskhinval with weapons of mass destruction. On the night of August 8, Russian troops entered South Ossetia. On August 10, they pushed the Georgian aggressors back to the town of Gori.

As a result of this war, 66 Russian peacekeepers and more than 1.600 South Ossetian residents with Russian passports and citizenship were killed.

On August 26, 2008 the Russian Federation recognized the independence of South Ossetia.

WAR 08.08.08